Kentucky Bill to Assess Older Motor Vehicles for Property Tax Approved by Senate Committee; Moves to Full Senate

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Kentucky Bill to Assess Older Motor Vehicles for Property Tax Approved by Senate Committee; Moves to Full Senate 

Legislation (H.B. 20) to put in place a new valuation procedure for older vehicles was approved by the Kentucky Senate Transportation Committee and now moves to a vote by the full Senate.  The bill has already been approved by the House.  Under the bill, vehicles 20 years old or older would no longer be presumed to be in "original factory" or "classic" condition.   Original factory and classic vehicles are currently assessed as high-value collectibles.  This measure instead provides three options for assessing the value of these vehicles: (1) if the vehicle was registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be assessed at the value it was assessed at in its 19th year and that value will be reduced by 10% for each year after its 19th year; (2) if the vehicle was not registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be valued according to its "average trade-in value" in its 19th year, which would be reduced by 10% for each year after the vehicle's 19th year and; or (3) a valuation administrator would conduct an assessment of the vehicle to determine the correct value, which would be reduced by 10% for each year thereafter. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Kentucky Senate (List Attached) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion of H.B. 20

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Kentucky Senate

To e-mail all Senators, copy and paste the email address block below:

Stan.Humphries@lrc.ky.gov; danny.carroll@lrc.ky.gov; Whitney.Westerfield@lrc.ky.gov; Dorsey.Ridley@lrc.ky.gov; Carroll.Gibson@lrc.ky.gov; cb.embry@lrc.ky.gov; Julian.Carroll@lrc.ky.gov; Joe.Bowen@lrc.ky.gov; David.Givens@lrc.ky.gov; Dennis.Parrett@lrc.ky.gov; John.Schickel@lrc.ky.gov; Alice.Kerr@lrc.ky.gov; reginald.thomas@lrc.ky.gov; Jimmy.Higdon@lrc.ky.gov; Chris.Girdler@lrc.ky.gov; george.wise@lrc.ky.gov; Damon.Thayer@lrc.ky.gov; Robin.Webb@lrc.ky.gov; Morgan.McGarvey@lrc.ky.gov; Paul.Hornback@lrc.ky.gov; Albert.Robinson@lrc.ky.gov; Tom.Buford@lrc.ky.gov; Chris.McDaniel@lrc.ky.gov; wil.schroder@lrc.ky.gov; Robert.Stivers@lrc.ky.gov; Ernie.Harris@lrc.ky.gov; ralph.alvarado@lrc.ky.gov; johnny.turner@lrc.ky.gov; Brandon.Smith@lrc.ky.gov; Ray.Jones@lrc.ky.gov; Mike.Wilson@lrc.ky.gov; Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov; Jared.Carpenter@lrc.ky.gov; Denise.HarperAngel@lrc.ky.gov; julie.adams@lrc.ky.gov; Perry.Clark@lrc.ky.gov; Dan.Seum@lrc.ky.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives