Kentucky Bill to Assess Motor Vehicles for Property Tax Approved by House; Moves to Senate

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT (UPDATE)
 

Kentucky Bill to Assess Motor Vehicles for Property Tax Approved by House; Moves to Senate 

Legislation (H.B. 20) to put in place a new valuation procedure for older vehicles was approved by the Kentucky House and now moves to the Senate Transportation Committee for consideration.  Under the bill, vehicles 20 years old or older would no longer be presumed to be in "original factory" or "classic" condition.   Original factory and classic vehicles are currently assessed as high-value collectibles.  This measure instead provides three options for assessing the value of these vehicles: (1) if the vehicle was registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be assessed at the value it was assessed at in its 19th year and that value will be reduced by 10% for each year after its 19th year; (2) if the vehicle was not registered in Kentucky in its 19th year, it will be valued according to its "average trade-in value" in its 19th year, which would be reduced by 10% for each year after the vehicle's 19th year and; or (3) a valuation administrator would conduct an assessment of the vehicle to determine the correct value, which would be reduced by 10% for each year thereafter. 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Kentucky Senate Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion of H.B. 20

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Kentucky Senate Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

ernie.harris@lrc.ky.gov; Brandon.Smith@lrc.ky.gov; Joe.Bowen@lrc.ky.gov; cbembryjr@yahoo.com; Jared.Carpenter@lrc.ky.gov; Jimmy.Higdon@lrc.ky.gov; Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov; Dorsey.Ridley@lrc.ky.gov; Albert.Robinson@lrc.ky.gov; Johnny.Turner@lrc.ky.gov; Whitney.Westerfield@lrc.ky.gov; Mike.Wilson@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Ernie Harris (Chair)
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 605
Email: ernie.harris@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Brandon Smith (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 646
Email: Brandon.Smith@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Joe Bowen
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 662
Email: Joe.Bowen@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Jared Carpenter
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 730
Email: Jared.Carpenter@lrc.ky.gov

Senator C.B. Embry Jr.
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 710
Email: cbembryjr@yahoo.com

Senator Jimmy Higdon
Phone: 502-564-2450
Email: Jimmy.Higdon@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Gerald A. Neal
Phone: 502-564-2470
Email: Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Dorsey Ridley
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 655
Email: Dorsey.Ridley@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Albert Robinson
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 604
Email: Albert.Robinson@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Johnny Ray Turner
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 2470
Email: Johnny.Turner@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Whitney Westerfield
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 622
Email: Whitney.Westerfield@lrc.ky.gov

Senator Mike Wilson
Phone: 502-564-8100 Ext. 717
Email: Mike.Wilson@lrc.ky.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives