Iowa Bill to Provide for Single License Plate Amended and Approved by House; Moves to Senate

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.F. 2148 immediately from the Iowa Senate Transportation Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • Iowa defines an antique vehicle as a motor vehicle twenty-five years old or older.   
     
  • H.F. 2148 defines a “sports car” to mean a motor vehicle originally manufactured with seats for two passengers, with a front bumper that sits eight inches from the ground or less, and capable of exceeding one hundred thirty miles per hour.    
     
  • H.F. 2148 would save money, conserve resources and bring Idaho in line with other states that have moved to a single plate requirement.
     
  • H.F. 2148 would protect the aesthetic contours of collector cars and relieve vehicle owners of the burden of having to create mounting holes on some original bumpers.   

Overview:  Legislation (H.F. 2148) to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles was amended and approved by the Iowa House.  Under the amendment, sports cars and those vehicles registered as antiques would be included among those allowed to display a single plate attached to the rear of the vehicle.  


 

 

Iowa Senate Transportation Committee 

Senator Tod R. Bowman                   
tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Robert E. Dvorsky                
robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Tim L. Kapucian                   
tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Chris Brase                           
chris.brase@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Michael Breitbach                 
michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Jeff Danielson                       
jeffdanielson@gmail.com

Senator Dick L. Dearden                   
dick.dearden@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Randy Feenstra                     
randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Wally E. Horn                       
wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Tim Kraayenbrink                 
tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Matt McCoy                         
matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Herman C. Quirmbach                                  
herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov

Senator Roby Smith                           
roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives