Idaho Introduces Bills to Increase Registration Fees

Two pieces of legislation (H.B. 341/338) have been introduced in the Idaho State Legislature to increase annual registration fees for motor vehicles having a gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less.  The fee increase would vary depending on the age of the vehicle.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Idaho House Transportation and Defense Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 341 and H.B. 338

  • H.B. 341 and H.B. 338 would increase the annual registration fees from $48 to $96 for vehicles 1-2 years old; from $36 to $72 for vehicles 3-4 years old; from $36 to $72 for vehicles 5-6 years old; from $24 to $48 for vehicles 7-8 years old; and from $24 to $48 for vehicles over 8 years old.
     
  • H.B. 341 and H.B. 338 make no special exception for hobby cars such as kits, classics, old timers, reconstructed, replica, specially constructed and street rods that constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet, are infrequently operated and deserving of lower registration fees. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Idaho House Transportation and Defense Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 341 and H.B. 338.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Idaho House Transportation and Defense Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

jpalmer@house.idaho.gov; pshepherd@house.idaho.gov; jawood@house.idaho.gov; rwills@house.idaho.gov; lbateman@house.idaho.gov; fhenderson@house.idaho.gov; ldenney@house.idaho.gov; tgestrin@house.idaho.gov; mgibbs@house.idaho.gov; bhixon@house.idaho.gov; ckauffman@house.idaho.gov; kpacker@house.idaho.gov; mpatterson@house.idaho.gov; ryoungblood@house.idaho.gov; sringo@house.idaho.gov; pking@house.idaho.gov; jgannon@house.idaho.gov

Joe Palmer (Chair)
Phone: (208) 887-9488
 
Paul Shepherd (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (208) 628-3695
 
JoAn Wood
Phone: (208) 745-7846
 
Richard Wills
Phone: (208) 366-7408
 
Linden Bateman
Phone: (208) 524-0927
 
Frank Henderson
Phone: (208) 773-2269
 
Lawerence Denney
Phone: (208) 355-2374
 
Terry Gestrin
Phone: (208) 325-8844
 
Marc Gibbs
Phone: (208) 425-3385
 
Brandon Hixon
Phone: (208) 440-1074
 
Clark Kauffman
Phone: (208) 326-4131
 
Kelley Packer
Phone: (208) 241-3350
 
Mark Patterson
Phone: (208) 672-0911
 
Rick Youngblood
Phone: (208) 412-5107
 
Shirley Ringo
Phone: (208) 883-1005
 
Phylis King
Phone: (208) 344-0202
 
John Gannon
Phone: (208) 343-1608
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives