Florida House Subcommittee to Consider Bill to Create Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled; Hearing Scheduled for Tuesday, March 24, 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Florida House Subcommittee to Consider Bill to Create Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled; Hearing Scheduled for Tuesday, March 24, 2015

The Florida House version of legislation (H.B. 7075) to direct the Department of Transportation and Florida Transportation Commission to undertake a study on the impact of implementing a system that charges drivers based on vehicle miles traveled (VMT) will be considered by the Florida House Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee on Tuesday, March 24, 2015.  Under the bill, the agencies would analyze a VMT tax as an alternative to the current gas tax structure to fund transportation projects.  A Senate version of the bill has already been approved by the Senate Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact House Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee Members (List Below) Immediately To Request Their Opposition to H.B. 7075

  • According to opponents, in addition to creating privacy concerns, the bill seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on vehicle mileage.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.
     
  • H.B. 7075 requires the Department of Transportation and Florida Transportation Commissionto submit a report on the implantation plan for a vehicle mile user tax by December 31, 2016.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee immediately to request their opposition to H.B. 7075.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida House Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee

To e-mail all Subcommittee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

 

Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov; Hazelle.Rogers@myfloridahouse.gov; Bruce.Antone@myfloridahouse.gov; Frank.Artiles@myfloridahouse.gov; Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov; Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov; Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov; Keith.Perry@myfloridahouse.gov; Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov; Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov; Victor.Torres@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Clay Ingram (Chair)

Phone: (850) 717-5001

Email: Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative George Moraitis (Vice-Chair)

Phone: (850) 717-5093

Email: George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Hazel Rogers

Phone: (850) 717-5095

Email: Hazelle.Rogers@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Bruce Antone

Phone: (850) 717-5046

Email: Bruce.Antone@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Frank Artiles

Phone: (850) 717-5118

Email: Frank.Artiles@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Bryan Avila

Phone: (850) 717-5111

Email: Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Colleen Burton

Phone: (850) 717-5040

Email: Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Brad Drake

Phone: (850) 717-5005

Email: Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Keith Perry

Phone: (850) 717-5021

Email: Keith.Perry@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Kathleen Peters

Phone: (850) 717-5069

Email: Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Lake Ray

Phone: (850) 717-5012

Email: Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Richard Stark

Phone: (850) 717-5104

Email: Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Vic Torres

Phone: (850) 717-5048

Email: Victor.Torres@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives