Florida Bill to Reduce Registration Fees for Motor Vehicles Approved by Senate; Moves to Appropriations Committee for April 26 Hearing

Legislation (S.B. 1832) to reduce the annual vehicle registration fees charged for automobiles and light trucks was approved by the Florida Senate on a 39-0 vote.  If enacted into law, the reduction in fees would result in a $12 annual decrease in the amount paid to register a motor vehicle.  The reduction would be implemented by eliminating a tax credit for Florida insurance companies.   The bill will now be considered by the House Appropriations Committee on Friday, April 26, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Florida House Appropriations Committee (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 1832

  • Annual vehicle registration fees were raised in 2009 during the worst of Florida’s economic downturn. 
     
  • S.B. 1832 would result in a $12 annual decrease in the amount paid to register a motor vehicle. 
     
  • S.B. 1832 is expected to save Florida taxpayers up to $220 million per year.
     
  • S.B. 1832 would reduce registration fees effective September 1, 2013. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Florida House Appropriations Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 1832.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida House Appropriations Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov; Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov; Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov; Dennis.Baxley@myfloridahouse.gov; Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov; Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov; Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov; Reggie.Fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov; Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov; Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov; Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov; Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; Mia.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov; Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov; Marlene.OToole@myfloridahouse.gov; Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov; Hazelle.Rogers@myfloridahouse.gov; Darryl.Rouson@myfloridahouse.gov; cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Greg.Steube@myfloridahouse.gov; perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov; Alan.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov

Representative Seth McKeel (Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5040
 
Representative Steve Crisafulli (Vice Chair)
Phone: (850) 717-5051
 
Representative Joe Gibbons
Phone: (850) 717-5100
 
Representative Ben Albritton
Phone: (850) 717-5056
 
Representative Dennis Baxley
Phone: (850) 717-5023
 
Representative Marti Coley
Phone: (850) 717-5005
 
Representative Richard Corcoran
Phone: (850) 717-5037
 
Representative Janet Cruz
Phone: (850) 717-5062
 
Representative Erik Fresen
Phone: (850) 717-5114
 
Representative Reggie Fullwood
Phone: (850) 717-5013
 
Representative Eddy Gonzalez
Phone: (850) 717-5111
 
Representative Ed Hooper
Phone: (850) 717-5067
 
Representative Matt Hudson
Phone: (850) 717-5080
 
Representative Clay Ingram
Phone: (850) 717-5001
 
Representative Mia Jones
Phone: (850) 717-5014
 
Representative Charles McBurney
Phone: (850) 717-5016
 
Representative Marlene O'Toole
Phone: (850) 717-5033
 
Representative Mark Pafford
Phone: (850) 717-5086
 
Representative Jimmy Patronis
Phone: (850) 717-5006
 
Representative Steve Precourt
Phone: (850) 717-5044
 
Representative Hazel Rogers
Phone: (850) 717-5095
 
Representative Darryl Rouson
Phone: (850) 717-5070
 
Representative Cynthia Stafford
Phone: (850) 717-5109
 
Representative Greg Steube
Phone: (850) 717-5073
 
Representative Perry Thurston, Jr.,
Phone: (850) 717-5094
 
Representative Alan Williams
Phone: (850) 717-5008
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives