Florida Bill to Reduce Registration Fees for Motor Vehicles Amended and Approved by Committee; Moves to House Floor

Legislation (S.B. 1832) to reduce the annual vehicle registration fees charged for automobiles and light trucks was approved by the Florida House Appropriations Committee with an amendment.  Having already been approved by the Senate, the bill now moves to the House floor for a vote by all members.  Under the amended bill, registration fees would be reduced by $2.40 annually until a total decrease of $12 has been achieved. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Florida House of Representatives (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 1832

  • Annual vehicle registration fees were raised in 2009 during the worst of Florida’s economic downturn. 
     
  • S.B. 1832 would result in a $12 annual decrease over 5 years in the amount paid to register a motor vehicle. 
     
  • S.B. 1832 is expected to save Florida taxpayers up to $220 million per year when fully implemented.
     
  • S.B. 1832 would begin to reduce registration fees effective July 1, 2014.   

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Florida House of Representatives immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for S.B. 1832.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Florida House of Representatives

Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov; Doug.Broxson@myfloridahouse.gov; Matt.Gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov; Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov; Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov; Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov; John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov; Michelle.Rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov; Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov; Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov; Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov; Reggie.Fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov; Mia.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov; Daniel.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov; Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov; Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov; Travis.Cummings@myfloridahouse.gov; Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov; Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov; Keith.Perry@myfloridahouse.gov; Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov; Dennis.Baxley@myfloridahouse.gov; Travis.Hutson@myfloridahouse.gov; Dave.Hood@myfloridahouse.gov; Dwayne.Taylor@myfloridahouse.gov; David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov; Jason.Brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov; Mike.Clelland@myfloridahouse.gov; Karen.CastorDentel@myfloridahouse.gov; Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov; Larry.Metz@myfloridahouse.gov; Marlene.OToole@myfloridahouse.gov; Jimmie.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov; Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov; mike.fasano@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov; Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov; Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov; Seth.McKeel@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov; Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov; Ricardo.Rangel@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov; Randolph.Bracy@myfloridahouse.gov; Bruce.Antone@myfloridahouse.gov; Linda.Stewart@myfloridahouse.gov; Victor.Torres@myfloridahouse.gov; Joe.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov; Tom.Goodson@myfloridahouse.gov; Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov; Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov; John.Tobia@myfloridahouse.gov; Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov; Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov; Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov; Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov; dan.raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov; Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov; Dana.Young@myfloridahouse.gov; Betty.Reed@myfloridahouse.gov; Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov; Mark.Danish@myfloridahouse.gov; James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov; Carl.Zimmermann@myfloridahouse.gov; Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov; Dwight.Dudley@myfloridahouse.gov; Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov; Darryl.Rouson@myfloridahouse.gov; Jim.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov; Ray.Pilon@myfloridahouse.gov; Greg.Steube@myfloridahouse.gov; Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov; Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov; Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov; Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov; Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov; Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov; Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov; Kevin.Rader@myfloridahouse.gov; MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov; Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov; Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov; Pat.Rooney@myfloridahouse.gov; Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Dave.Kerner@myfloridahouse.gov; Bobby.Powell@myfloridahouse.gov; Bill.Hager@myfloridahouse.gov; Lori.Berman@myfloridahouse.gov; Irving.Slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov; Gwyn.Clarke-Reed@myfloridahouse.gov; George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov; Perry.Thurston@myfloridahouse.gov; Hazelle.Rogers@myfloridahouse.gov; Jim.Waldman@myfloridahouse.gov; Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov; Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov; Elaine.Schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov; Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov; shevrin.jones@myfloridahouse.gov; Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov; Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov; Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov; Carlos.Trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov; Kathleen.Passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov; Barbara.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov; Daphne.Campbell@myfloridahouse.gov; Cynthia.Stafford@myfloridahouse.gov; Jose.Oliva@myfloridahouse.gov; Jose.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov; David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov; Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov; Michael.Bileca@myfloridahouse.gov; Jose.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov; Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov; Frank.Artiles@myfloridahouse.gov; Jeanette.Nunez@myfloridahouse.gov; Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov; eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov; ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives