Connecticut Senate to Consider Bill to Increase Property Taxes and Limit Miles Driven by Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles

Legislation (H.B. 6629) that previously had no language regarding the antique auto hobby has just been amended by the House to include provisions to raises the assessed value of antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles along with placing a cap on the number of miles those vehicles can be driven in a two-year period.  The amended bill was passed by the House and will be considered by the Senate today, June 5th, the last day of the legislative session.  Under the amended bill, the valuation of these vehicles will now have an increased maximum value of up to $1000.  The previous valuation limit in the state was $500.  Also included in the bill is a 2,000 mile cap on the distance these vehicles can be driven in a two-year period.      

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Connecticut Senate (E-Mail List Below) Immediately to Request Opposition to H.B. 6629 

  • Tax assessors are looking to target motor vehicles for additional revenue at time when it appears that property taxes are increasing for many Connecticut citizens on other taxable property.
     
  • H.B. 6629 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.
     
  • H.B. 6629 raises the maximum assessed value of antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles to $1000.  The previous limit was $500.
     
  • H.B. 6629 also creates a provision that forces all owners of vehicles with antique plates to certify that such motor vehicle is not driven more than 2,000 miles in a two-year period.
     
  • H.B. 6629 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of continued property tax benefits.
     
  • This unfairly targets and restricts hobbyists who frequently attend auto shows or use their vehicles for regional road tours.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Connecticut Senate immediately by e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 6629.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Connecticut Senate

To e-mail all Senate members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov; Bartolomeo@senatedems.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov; steve.cassano@cga.ct.gov; Clark.Chapin@cga.ct.gov; Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov; Crisco@senatedems.ct.gov; Paul.Doyle@cga.ct.gov; Duff@senatedems.ct.gov; Len.Fasano@cga.ct.gov; Fonfara@senatedems.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; Theresa.Gerratana@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Harp@cga.ct.gov; Hartley@senatedems.ct.gov; Rob.Kane@cga.ct.gov; Kevin.Kelly@cga.ct.gov; John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov; Gary.LeBeau@cga.ct.gov; Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov; Art.Linares@cga.ct.gov; Looney@senatedems.ct.gov; Joe.Markley@cga.ct.gov; Maynard@senatedems.ct.gov; John.McKinney@cga.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Meyer@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.Musto@cga.ct.gov; Catherine.Osten@cga.ct.gov; Gayle.Slossberg@cga.ct.gov; Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov; Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov; Williams@senatedems.ct.gov; Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives