Connecticut Reintroduces Bill to Increase Property Taxes on Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles

The governor has introduced legislation (S.B. 843) to eliminate a provision in the Connecticut statutes that allows antiques, rare or special interest motor vehicles to be assessed at a value of no more than $500.  Under the bill, valuation of these vehicles will be done in the same manner as all other motor vehicles in the state.  Vehicles in Connecticut are taxed by the municipality in which they are registered and rates vary by municipality.  The municipality calculates the owner’s tax liability for a particular vehicle by multiplying the "mill rate" by 70% of the vehicle’s true and actual value.  

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to this Provision in S.B. 843

  • Tax assessors are looking to target motor vehicles for additional revenue at time when it appears that property taxes are increasing for many Connecticut citizens on other taxable property.
     
  • S.B. 843 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.  These values may not be easily determined.  
     
  • S.B. 843 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of continued property tax benefits. 

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.B. 843.  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Connecticut Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding 

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

 

John.Fonfara@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov; james.albis@cga.ct.gov; Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov; Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov; Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov; Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov; Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov; Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov; Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov; Michael.DAgostino@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov; Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov; Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov; Gary.LeBeau@cga.ct.gov; roland.lemar@cga.ct.gov; Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov; Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.Musto@cga.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov; Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Andrea.Stillman@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov; David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; Cecilia.Buck-Taylor@housegop.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov; John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov; Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov; David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov; Stephen.Walko@housegop.ct.gov; Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator John Fonfara (Co-Chair)

Phone: 860-240-0462

Email: John.Fonfara@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Patricia Widlitz (Co-Chair)

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Gary LeBeau (Vice Chair)

Phone: 860-240-0511

Email: Gary.LeBeau@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Roland Lemar (Vice Chair)

Phone: 860) 240-8585

Email: roland.lemar@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Robert Sanchez (Vice Chair)

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Scott Frantz

Phone: 860-240-8800

Email: Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Sean Williams

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative James Albis

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: james.albis@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Emil Altobello

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Angel Arce

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Andres Ayala

Phone: 860-240-8864

Email: Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Brian Becker

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Jeffrey Berger

Phone: 860-240-8500

Email: Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Larry Butler

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Steve Cassano

Phone: 860-240-5302

Email: Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Michael D’Agostino

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Michael.DAgostino@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Kim Fawcett

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Jack Hennessy

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Susan Johnson

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Timothy Larson

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Carlo Leone

Phone: 860-240-0589

Email: Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Rick Lopes

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Geoff Luxenberg

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Russell Morin

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Edward Moukawsher

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Mary Mushinsky

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Anthony Musto

Phone: 860-240-0498

Email: Anthony.Musto@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Lonnie Reed

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Jason Rojas

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Hilda Santiago

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Charlie Stallworth

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Jonathan Steinberg

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Andrea Stillman

Phone: 860-240-0425

Email: Andrea.Stillman@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Christopher Wright

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative David Zoni

Phone: 860-240-8585

Email: David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative William Aman

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Toni Boucher

Phone: 860-240-0465

Email: Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Cecilia Buck-Taylor

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Cecilia.Buck-Taylor@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Vincent Candelora

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Christopher Davis

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Livvy Floren

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative John Frey

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov

 

Senator Michael McLachlan

Phone: 860-240-0068

Email: Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative John Piscopo

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Rosa Rebimbas

Phone: 860-240-8723

Email: Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Pamela Sawyer

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative David Scribner

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative John Shaban

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Bill Simanski

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Prasad Srinivasan

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Stephen Walko

Phone: 860-240-8700

Email: Stephen.Walko@housegop.ct.gov

 

Senator Kevin Witkos

Phone: 860-240-0436

Email: Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives