Connecticut Reintroduces Bill to Increase Property Taxes on Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

 

Legislation (H.B. 5102) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles” or “modified antique motor vehicles” has been reintroduced in the Connecticut State Legislature.  Under the bill, vehicles seeking registration as antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or as modified antique motor vehicles would be required to be at least 30 years old.  Currently, vehicles 20 years old or older are eligible for this status and special license plates.  For the purpose of property taxes, the bill also increases the maximum assessment of these vehicles from $500 to $2,500.       

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5102 

  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register legitimate antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and being preserved because of historic interest and not altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications. 
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register modified antique motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and modified for safe road use, including, but not limited to, modifications to the drive train, suspension, braking system and safety or comfort apparatus.    
     
  • H.B. 5102 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.
     
  • H.B. 5102 will require antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles that no longer qualify for special plates to have them replaced with standard plates.
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes no provision for “grandfathering” existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or modified antique motor vehicles that are 20-30 years old and allowing them to retain their current registration status.
     
  • H.B. 5102 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles and modified antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated and deserving of continued property tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 5102.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Connecticut Joint Committee on Planning and Development

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Catherine.Osten@cga.ct.gov; Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov; Len.Fasano@cga.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; Joe.Diminico@cga.ct.gov; Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov; Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov; Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov; Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; matthew.ritter@cga.ct.gov; Brian.Sear@cga.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov; Tom.Vicino@cga.ct.gov

Senator Steve Cassano (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-5302
 
Representative Jason Rojas (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Cathy Osten (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0579
 
Representative Daniel Fox (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Len Fasano
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative Bill Aman
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Vincent Candelora
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Christopher Davis
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Joe Diminico
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Mae Flexer
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Mary Fritz
Phone: 860-240-8500
 
Representative Linda Gentile
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Auden Grogins
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Noreen Kokoruda
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Lonnie Reed
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Matt Ritter
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Brian Sear
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Bill Simanski
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Richard Smith
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Tom Vicino
Phone: 860-240-8585
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives