Connecticut House to Consider Bill to Increase Property Taxes on Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles

After being approved by the Joint Committee on Planning and Development by a narrow 10-9 vote, legislation (H.B. 5102) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles” or “modified antique motor vehicles” will be considered by the Connecticut House of Representatives in a vote by all members.  Under the bill, vehicles seeking registration as antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or as modified antique motor vehicles would be required to be at least 30 years old.  Currently, vehicles 20 years old or older are eligible for this status and special license plates.  For the purpose of property taxes, the bill also increases the maximum assessment of these vehicles from $500 to $2,500.   

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Connecticut House of Representatives (E-Mail List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5102 

  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register legitimate antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and being preserved because of historic interest and not altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications. 
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register modified antique motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and modified for safe road use, including, but not limited to, modifications to the drive train, suspension, braking system and safety or comfort apparatus.    
     
  • H.B. 5102 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.    
     
  • H.B. 5102 will require antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles that no longer qualify for special plates to have them replaced with standard plates.
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes no provision for “grandfathering” existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or modified antique motor vehicles that are 20-30 years old and allowing them to retain their current registration status.
     
  • H.B. 5102 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles and modified antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated and deserving of continued property tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Connecticut House of Representatives immediately by e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 5102.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Connecticut House of Representatives

To e-mail all House members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov; tim.ackert@housegop.ct.gov; al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov; Mike.Alberts@housegop.ct.gov; james.albis@cga.ct.gov; David.Alexander@cga.ct.gov; Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov; David.Arconti@cga.ct.gov; Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov; Christina.Ayala@cga.ct.gov; Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov; Terry.Backer@cga.ct.gov; David.Baram@cga.ct.gov; Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov; Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov; Mitch.Bolinsky@housegop.ct.gov; Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov; Tim.Bowles@cga.ct.gov; Cecilia.Buck-Taylor@housegop.ct.gov; Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov; Lawrence.Cafero@housegop.ct.gov; Fred.Camillo@housegop.ct.gov; Juan.Candelaria@cga.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; christie.carpino@housegop.ct.gov; dan.carter@housegop.ct.gov; Jay.Case@housegop.ct.gov; Charles.D.Clemons@cga.ct.gov; Theresa.Conroy@cga.ct.gov; Michelle.Cook@cga.ct.gov; Victor.Cuevas@cga.ct.gov; Michael.DAgostino@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.DAmelio@housegop.ct.gov; Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov; Mike.Demicco@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov; Joe.Diminico@cga.ct.gov; Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov; Andrew.Fleischmann@cga.ct.gov; Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov; Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov; Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov; Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov; John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov; Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov; henry.genga@cga.ct.gov; Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov; Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov; Marilyn.Giuliano@housegop.ct.gov; Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov; Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov; Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov; Tony.Guerrera@cga.ct.gov; Gregory.Haddad@cga.ct.gov; John.Hampton@cga.ct.gov; Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov; Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov; DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov; Laura.Hoydick@housegop.ct.gov; Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov; Tony.Hwang@housegop.ct.gov; Claire.Janowski@cga.ct.gov; Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov; Ed.Jutila@cga.ct.gov; David.Kiner@cga.ct.gov; Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov; Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov; brenda.kupchick@housegop.ct.gov; David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov; Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov; gail.lavielle@housegop.ct.gov; Tim.LeGeyt@housegop.ct.gov; roland.lemar@cga.ct.gov; Matthew.Lesser@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov; James.Maroney@cga.ct.gov; Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov; Brandon.McGee@cga.ct.gov; Robert.Megna@cga.ct.gov; Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov; Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov; Lawrence.Miller@housegop.ct.gov; Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov; Craig.Miner@housegop.ct.gov; michael.molgano@housegop.ct.gov; Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov; Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Sandy.Nafis@cga.ct.gov; Frank.Nicastro@cga.ct.gov; Selim.Noujaim@housegop.ct.gov; Elaine.OBrien@cga.ct.gov; Tom.ODea@housegop.ct.gov; Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov; Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov; jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov; Chris.Perone@cga.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; Emmett.Riley@cga.ct.gov; Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov; Elizabeth.Ritter@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Rose@cga.ct.gov; Danny.Rovero@cga.ct.gov; David.Rutigliano@housegop.ct.gov; Kevin.Ryan@cga.ct.gov; rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov; Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov; Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Ezequiel.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov; Peggy.Sayers@cga.ct.gov; David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov; Brian.Sear@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov; J.Brendan.Sharkey@cga.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov; prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov; Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Peter.Tercyak@cga.ct.gov; William.Tong@cga.ct.gov; Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov; Edwin.Vargas@cga.ct.gov; Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov; Tom.Vicino@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov; Stephen.Walko@housegop.ct.gov; Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov; Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov; Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov; Terrie.Wood@housegop.ct.gov; Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov; dave.yaccarino@housegop.ct.gov; Melissa.Ziobron@housegop.ct.gov; David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov; Lezlye.Zupkus@housegop.ct.gov

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives