Connecticut Bill Threatens to Disallow Year-of-Manufacture License Plates

Legislation (H.B. 6495) to disallow the use of year-of-manufacture license plates after July 1, 2013 has been introduced in the Connecticut House.  Under the bill, the owner of an antique, rare or special interest motor vehicle who was authorized before July 1, 2013 to display a year of manufacture plate could continue to display the plate until the registration period expires.  However, upon renewal of registration, the owner would be required display a current registration plate.  The bill would totally outlaw use of all year-of-manufacture plates after June 30, 2015.   The measure will be considered by the Connecticut Joint Transportation Committee on Friday, March 8, 2013.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Joint Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately to Request Opposition to H.B. 6495

  • In Connecticut, an antique, rare or special interest motor vehicle is a motor vehicle twenty years old or older which is being preserved because of historic interest and which is not altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications.
     
  • Current law provides vehicle owners the option of using vintage, original model-year license plates on antique, rare or special interest motor vehicle.
     
  • H.B. 6495 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars which deserve to display license plates that recognize the unique historical nature of these vehicles as mobile museum pieces.  

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Connecticut Joint Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 6495. 

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Connecticut Joint Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

Andrew.Maynard@cga.ct.gov; Tony.Guerrera@cga.ct.gov; andrea.stillman@cga.ct.gov; Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov; David.Alexander@cga.ct.gov; whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov; Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov; Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov; Hartley@senatedems.ct.gov; DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov; Claire.Janowski@cga.ct.gov; Ed.Jutila@cga.ct.gov; David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov; Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov; Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov; Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; michael.molgano@housegop.ct.gov; Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov; Elaine.OBrien@cga.ct.gov; Tom.ODea@housegop.ct.gov; jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov; Ezequiel.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov; Peggy.Sayers@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov

Senator Andrew Maynard (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0591
 
Representative Antonio Guerrera (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Andrea Stillman (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0425
 
Representative Steven Mikutel (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Toni Boucher
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative David Scribner
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative David Alexander
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Whit Betts
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Steve Cassano
Phone: 860-240-5302
 
Representative Gerald Fox
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator L. Scott Frantz
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative Janice Giegler
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Joan Hartley
Phone: 860-240-0006
 
Representative DebraLee Hovey
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Claire Janowski
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Ed Jutila
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative David Labriola
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Timothy Larson
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Roland Lemar
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Carlo Leone
Phone: 860-240-0589
 
Representative Rick Lopes
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Michael McLachlan
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative Michael Molgano
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Russell Morin
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Elaine O’Brien
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Tom O’Dea
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Jason Perillo
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Ezequiel Santiago
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Pamela Sawyer
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Peggy Sayers
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Joseph Serra
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Bill Simanski
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Jonathan Steinberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Joe Verrengia
Phone: 860-240-8585
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives