Connecticut Bill to Increase Property Taxes on Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles to be Considered by Committee on Tues., May 1

After receiving a favorable report from the Legislative Commissioners’ Office, legislation (H.B. 5102) to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles” or “modified antique motor vehicles” will be considered by the Joint Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee on Tuesday, May 1.  Under the bill, vehicles seeking registration as antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or as modified antique motor vehicles would be required to be at least 30 years old.  Currently, vehicles 20 years old or older are eligible for this status and special license plates.  For the purpose of property taxes, the bill also increases the maximum assessment of these vehicles from $500 to $2,500.   

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Connecticut Joint Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee (E-Mail List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 5102 

  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register legitimate antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and being preserved because of historic interest and not altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications.
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes it more difficult to register modified antique motor vehicles, which are defined under the bill as thirty years old or older and modified for safe road use, including, but not limited to, modifications to the drive train, suspension, braking system and safety or comfort apparatus.  
     
  • H.B. 5102 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.
     
  • H.B. 5102 will require antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles that no longer qualify for special plates to have them replaced with standard plates.
     
  • H.B. 5102 makes no provision for “grandfathering” existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles or modified antique motor vehicles that are 20-30 years old and allowing them to retain their current registration status. 
     
  • H.B. 5102 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles and modified antique motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated and deserving of continued property tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Joint Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee immediately by e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 5102.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

Connecticut Joint Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

John.Fonfara@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov; james.albis@cga.ct.gov; Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov; Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov; Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov; Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov; Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov; Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov; Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov; Michael.DAgostino@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov; Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov; Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov; Gary.LeBeau@cga.ct.gov; roland.lemar@cga.ct.gov; Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov; Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.Musto@cga.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov; Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Andrea.Stillman@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov; David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; Cecilia.Buck-Taylor@housegop.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov; John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov; Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov; David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov; Stephen.Walko@housegop.ct.gov; Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

Senator John Fonfara (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0462
 
Representative Patricia Widlitz (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Gary LeBeau (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0511
 
Representative Roland Lemar (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860) 240-8585
 
Representative Robert Sanchez (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Scott Frantz
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative Sean Williams
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative James Albis
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Emil Altobello
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Angel Arce
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Andres Ayala
Phone: 860-240-8864
 
Representative Brian Becker
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jeffrey Berger
Phone: 860-240-8500
 
Representative Elizabeth Boukus
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Larry Butler
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Steve Cassano
Phone: 860-240-5302
 
Representative Michael D’Agostino
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Kim Fawcett
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jack Hennessy
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Susan Johnson
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Timothy Larson
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Carlo Leone
Phone: 860-240-0589
 
Representative Rick Lopes
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Geoff Luxenberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Russell Morin
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Edward Moukawsher
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Mary Mushinsky
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Anthony Musto
Phone: 860-240-0498
 
Representative Lonnie Reed
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jason Rojas
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Hilda Santiago
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Charlie Stallworth
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jonathan Steinberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Andrea Stillman
Phone: 860-240-0425
 
Representative Christopher Wright
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative David Zoni
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative William Aman
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Toni Boucher
Phone: 860-240-0465
 
Representative Cecilia Buck-Taylor
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Vincent Candelora
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Christopher Davis
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Livvy Floren
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative John Frey
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Michael McLachlan
Phone: 860-240-0068
 
Representative John Piscopo
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Rosa Rebimbas
Phone: 860-240-8723
 
Representative Pamela Sawyer
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative David Scribner
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative John Shaban
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Bill Simanski
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Prasad Srinivasan
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Stephen Walko
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Kevin Witkos
Phone: 860-240-0436
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives