Connecticut Bill to Increase Property Taxes on Antique/Rare/Special Interest Motor Vehicles to be Considered on Mon. March 4

Legislation (S.B. 843) to eliminate a provision in the Connecticut statutes that allows antiques, rare or special interest motor vehicles to be assessed at a value of no more than $500 will be considered by the Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding on Monday, March 4, 2013.  Under the bill,valuation of these vehicles will be done in the same manner as all other motor vehicles in the state.  Vehicles in Connecticut are taxed by the municipality in which they are registered and rates vary by municipality.  The municipality calculates the owner’s tax liability for a particular vehicle by multiplying the "mill rate" by 70% of the vehicle’s true and actual value. 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Connecticut Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to this Provision in S.B. 843

  • Tax assessors are looking to target motor vehicles for additional revenue at time when it appears that property taxes are increasing for many Connecticut citizens on other taxable property.  
     
  • S.B. 843 seeks to narrow property tax benefits for antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles by assessing their value at a higher rate.  These values may not be easily determined. 
     
  • S.B. 843 ignores the fact that existing antique, rare or special interest motor vehicles constitute a small portion of the vehicle fleet and are well-maintained, infrequently operated hobby cars and deserving of continued property tax benefits.

DON’T DELAY!  If you haven’t done so already, please contact members of the Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.B. 843.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Connecticut Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

John.Fonfara@cga.ct.gov; Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov; Scott.Frantz@cga.ct.gov; Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov; james.albis@cga.ct.gov; Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov; Angel.Arce@cga.ct.gov; Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov; Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov; Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov; Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov; Steve.Cassano@cga.ct.gov; Michael.DAgostino@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov; Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov; Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov; Gary.LeBeau@cga.ct.gov; roland.lemar@cga.ct.gov; Carlo.Leone@cga.ct.gov; Rick.Lopes@cga.ct.gov; Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov; Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Anthony.Musto@cga.ct.gov; Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov; Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov; Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov; Hilda.Santiago@cga.ct.gov; Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov; Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov; Andrea.Stillman@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov; David.Zoni@cga.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov; Cecilia.Buck-Taylor@housegop.ct.gov; Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov; christopher.davis@housegop.ct.gov; Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov; John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov; Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov; David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov; bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov; prasad.srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov; Stephen.Walko@housegop.ct.gov; Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

Senator John Fonfara (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0462
 
Representative Patricia Widlitz (Co-Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Gary LeBeau (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-0511
 
Representative Roland Lemar (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860) 240-8585
 
Representative Robert Sanchez (Vice Chair)
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Scott Frantz
Phone: 860-240-8800
 
Representative Sean Williams
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative James Albis
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Emil Altobello
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Angel Arce
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Andres Ayala
Phone: 860-240-8864
 
Representative Brian Becker
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jeffrey Berger
Phone: 860-240-8500
 
Representative Elizabeth Boukus
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Larry Butler
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Steve Cassano
Phone: 860-240-5302
 
Representative Michael D’Agostino
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Kim Fawcett
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jack Hennessy
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Susan Johnson
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Timothy Larson
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Carlo Leone
Phone: 860-240-0589
 
Representative Rick Lopes
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Geoff Luxenberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Russell Morin
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Edward Moukawsher
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Mary Mushinsky
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Anthony Musto
Phone: 860-240-0498
 
Representative Lonnie Reed
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jason Rojas
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Hilda Santiago
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Charlie Stallworth
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative Jonathan Steinberg
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Senator Andrea Stillman
Phone: 860-240-0425
 
Representative Christopher Wright
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative David Zoni
Phone: 860-240-8585
 
Representative William Aman
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Toni Boucher
Phone: 860-240-0465
 
Representative Cecilia Buck-Taylor
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Vincent Candelora
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Christopher Davis
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Livvy Floren
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative John Frey
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Michael McLachlan
Phone: 860-240-0068
 
Representative John Piscopo
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Rosa Rebimbas
Phone: 860-240-8723
 
Representative Pamela Sawyer
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative David Scribner
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative John Shaban
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Bill Simanski
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Prasad Srinivasan
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Representative Stephen Walko
Phone: 860-240-8700
 
Senator Kevin Witkos
Phone: 860-240-0436
 

Back to Breaking News: 2013 Archives