California Reintroduces Bill to Exempt pre-1981 Vehicles from Emissions Inspection Requirement

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for S.B. 1239 immediately from the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • S.B. 1239 recognizes the minimal impact of pre-1981 vehicles on emissions and air quality.
     
  • S.B. 1239 acknowledges that pre-1981 vehicles still constitute a minuscule portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.
     
  • S.B. 1239 endorses the fact that pre-1981 vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven (a fraction of the miles each year as a new vehicle).
     
  • For years, legislators, regulators and stationary source polluters have felt the heat from failed efforts to meet air quality goals and have looked to older cars as a convenient scapegoat, using false data and inflated annual mileage assumptions to further their case.  S.B. 1239 helps validate the truth.  The old car hobby should not continue to carry the burden of past mistakes!

Overview: Legislation (S.B. 1239) has been reintroduced in the California Senate by Senator Ted Gaines to exempt all motor vehicles prior to the 1981 model year from the emissions inspection requirement. Current law requires the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles.  The bill will be considered in the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee.


 

California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee 

Senator Anthony Cannella (R)                      
Email: senator.cannella@senate.ca.gov


Senator Jim Beall (D)             
Email: senator.beall@senate.ca.gov

 

Senator Ben Allen (D)                       
Email: senator.allen@senate.ca.gov

 

Senator Pat Bates (R)            
Email: senator.bates@senate.ca.gov


Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D)                       
Email: senator.galgiani@senate.ca.gov


Senator Ted Gaines (R)                     
Email: senator.gaines@senate.ca.gov


Senator Connie Leyva (D)                 
Email: senator.leyva@senate.ca.gov


Senator Mike McGuire (D)                
Email: senator.mcguire@senate.ca.gov


Senator Tony Mendoza (D)               
Email: senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov


Senator Richard Roth (D)                  
Email: senator.roth@senate.ca.gov


Senator Robert Wieckowski (D)                    
Email: senator.wieckowski@senate.ca.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives