California Bill to Increase Transportation Fees and Taxes Approved by Senate Committee

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your opinion of SBX1 immediately from the California Senate Appropriations Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • SBX1 would raise the gas tax from $0.30 to $0.42 per gallon.
     
  • SBX1 would raise the annual registration fee from $43 to $78 per vehicle.
     
  • SBX1 creates a new $35 annual road access charge per vehicle.

Overview: Legislation (SBX1) that would, among other things, raise the gas tax by $0.12 per gallon, increase by $35 the annual vehicle registration fee, add a new $100 annual vehicle registration fee for zero-emission motor vehicles and impose a new $35 annual road access charge on each vehicle was approved by the Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Development Committee.  The additional funds raised by the bill would be used to address deferred maintenance on the state highways and local streets and roads.  The bill has now been referred to the Appropriations Committee.


 

California Senate Appropriations Committee

Senator Ricardo Lara (D)                                 
senator.lara@senate.ca.gov

Senator Pat Bates (R)                           
senator.bates@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Beall (D)                          
senator.beall@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jerry Hill (D)                          
senator.hill@senate.ca.gov

Senator Tony Mendoza (D)                             
senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Nielsen (R)                                   
senator.nielsen@senate.ca.gov

Connie M. Leyva (D)                             
senator.leyva@senate.ca.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives