California Bill to Expand Vehicle Retirement Program to be Considered by Appropriations Committee on May 27

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your opposition to A.B. 1965 immediately from the Assembly Appropriations Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • A.B. 1965 represents another attempt by California lawmakers to dust off a tired, flawed and ineffective scrappage program using your tax dollars.  
     
  • A.B. 1965 ignores the fact that all scrappage programs hold the potential for enthusiasts to lose a valuable source of rare parts for vehicle restoration projects. 
     
  • A.B. 1965 is unfair to many of the low-income vehicle owners the bill seeks to target by potentially denying them available parts from older cars in order to maintain their own vehicles.
     
  • A.B. 1965 embraces the fact that most scrapped cars are infrequently or never used second or third vehicles.
     
  • A.B. 1965 will do little to improve air quality which is directly connected to overall basic vehicle maintenance.

Overview: Legislation (A.B. 1965) to require the Air Resources Board to expand the state’s program for the retirement and replacement of older passenger vehicles and light and medium-duty trucks will be considered by the Assembly Appropriations Committee on May 27, 2016.  The bill has already been approved by the Transportation Committee.  Current law provides for “an enhanced fleet modernization program” to be administered by the Bureau of Automotive Repair based on guidelines adopted by the Air Resources Board.  Beginning in the 2016-17 fiscal year, the bill would require the agencies to set specific and measurable goals for the program’s expansion.  


 

California Assembly Committee on Appropriations

Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R) 
assemblymember.bigelow@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D)         
assemblymember.gonzalez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Ling-Ling Chang (R)          
assemblymember.chang@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D)
assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan Bonilla (D)  
assemblymember.bonilla@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember James Gallagher (R)          
assemblymember.gallagher@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D)       
assemblymember.bonta@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Brian Jones (R)      
assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jay Obernolte (R)  
assemblymember.obernolte@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D)   
assemblymember.calderon@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Tom Daly (D)        
assemblymember.daly@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Donald Wagner (R)
assemblymember.wagner@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan Eggman (D) 
assemblymember.eggman@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Roger Hernandez (D)        
assemblymember.hernandez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Chris Holden (D)   
assemblymember.holden@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Miguel Santiago (D)           
assemblymember.santiago@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Shirley Weber (D) 
assemblymember.weber@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jim Wood (D)        
assemblymember.wood@assembly.ca.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives