California Bill to Expand Vehicle Retirement Program Approved by Assembly; Moves to Senate

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your opposition for A.B. 1965 immediately from the California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • A.B. 1965 represents another attempt by California lawmakers to dust off a tired, flawed and ineffective scrappage program using your tax dollars.    
     
  • A.B. 1965 ignores the fact that all scrappage programs hold the potential for enthusiasts to lose a valuable source of rare parts for vehicle restoration projects.  
     
  • A.B. 1965 is unfair to many of the low-income vehicle owners the bill seeks to target by potentially denying them available parts from older cars in order to maintain their own vehicles. 
     
  • A.B. 1965 embraces the fact that most scrapped cars are infrequently or never used second or third vehicles.     
     
  • A.B. 1965 will do little to improve air quality which is directly connected to overall basic vehicle maintenance. 

Overview: Legislation (A.B. 1965) to require the Air Resources Board to expand the state’s program for the retirement and replacement of older passenger vehicles and light and medium-duty trucks was approved by the California Assembly. The bill will now be considered by the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee.  Current law provides for “an enhanced fleet modernization program” to be administered by the Bureau of Automotive Repair based on guidelines adopted by the Air Resources Board.  Beginning in the 2016-17 fiscal year, the bill would require the agencies to set specific and measurable goals for the program’s expansion. 


 

California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee

Senator Anthony Cannella (R)                       
Email: senator.cannella@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Jim Beall (D)              
Email: senator.beall@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Ben Allen (D)                        
Email: senator.allen@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Pat Bates (R)             
Email: senator.bates@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D)                        
Email: senator.galgiani@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Ted Gaines (R)                      
Email: senator.gaines@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Connie Leyva (D)                  
Email: senator.leyva@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Mike McGuire (D)                 
Email: senator.mcguire@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Tony Mendoza (D)                
Email: senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Richard Roth (D)                   
Email: senator.roth@senate.ca.gov
 
Senator Robert Wieckowski (D)                    
Email: senator.wieckowski@senate.ca.gov
 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives