California Bill to Expand Eligibility for Year of Manufacture License Plates Approved by Committee

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request Support for S.B. 1429 immediately from the California Senate Appropriations Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • S.B. 1429 expands the authorization of year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles. 
     
  • The state may consult with an organization of old car hobbyists in determining whether the date of year of the license plate corresponds to the model-year date when the vehicle was manufactured.
     
  • A fee of $45 is charged for the application for the use of the special plates.

Overview: Legislation (S.B. 1429) to expand the authorization of year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles was approved by the California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee by an 11 – 0 vote.  Current law only authorizes owners of vehicles that are of a 1969 or older model-year or owners of a commercial vehicle or pickup truck that is a 1972 or older model year to utilize California year-of-manufacture license plates.  These plates must be legible and serviceable.  The bill will next be considered by the Senate Appropriations Committee.


 

California Senate Committee on Appropriations

Senator Ricardo Lara (D)                                 
senator.lara@senate.ca.gov

Senator Pat Bates (R)                           
senator.bates@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Nielsen (R)                                   
senator.nielsen@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Beall (D)                          
senator.beall@senate.ca.gov

Senator Kevin de Leon (D)                              
senator.deleon@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jerry Hill (D)                          
senator.hill@senate.ca.gov

Senator Tony Mendoza (D)                             
senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives