California Bill to Expand Eligibility for Year of Manufacture License Plates Approved by Senate; Moves to Assembly

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your support for S.B. 1429 immediately from the California Assembly Transportation Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • S.B. 1429 expands the authorization of year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles.  
     
  • The state may consult with an organization of old car hobbyists in determining whether the date of year of the license plate corresponds to the model-year date when the vehicle was manufactured. 
     
  • A fee of $45 is charged for the application for the use of the special plates. 

Overview: Legislation (S.B. 1429) to expand the authorizationof year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles was approved by the California Senate.    Current law only authorizes owners of vehicles that are of a 1969 or older model-year or owners of a commercial vehicle or pickup truck that is a 1972 or older to utilize California year-of-manufacture license plates.  These plates must be legible and serviceable.  The bill now moves to the Assembly Transportation Committee for consideration.  


 

California Assembly Committee on Transportation

Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D)      
assemblymember.frazier@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Catharine Baker (R)           
assemblymember.baker@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Young Kim (R)      
assemblymember.kim@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D)
assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Eric Linder (R)      
assemblymember.linder@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Cheryl Brown (D)  
assemblymember.brown@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Devon Mathis (R)  
assemblymember.mathis@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Kansen Chu (D)    
assemblymember.chu@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Melissa Melendez (R)        
assemblymember.melendez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Tom Daly (D)        
assemblymember.daly@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bill Dodd (D)        
assemblymember.dodd@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez (D) 
assemblymember.gomez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jose Medina (D)    
assemblymember.medina@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D)
assemblymember.nazarian@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Patrick O'Donnell (D)        
assemblymember.odonnell@assembly.ca.gov
 

      

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives