California Bill to Expand Eligibility for Year of Manufacture License Plates Approved by Assembly Committee

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your support for S.B. 1429 immediately from the California Assembly Appropriations Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • S.B. 1429 expands the authorization of year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles.  
     
  • The state may consult with an organization of old car hobbyists in determining whether the date of year of the license plate corresponds to the model-year date when the vehicle was manufactured. 
     
  • A fee of $45 is charged for the application for the use of the special plates. 

Overview: Legislation (S.B. 1429) to expand the authorization of year-of-manufacture license plates to include owners of 1980 or older model-year vehicles was approved by the Assembly Transportation Committee and now moves to the Appropriations Committee.  The bill has already been approved by the California Senate.    Current law only authorizes owners of vehicles that are of a 1969 or older model-year or owners of a commercial vehicle or pickup truck that is a 1972 or older to utilize California year-of-manufacture license plates.  These plates must be legible and serviceable.    


 

California Assembly Committee on Appropriations

Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R)                         
assemblymember.bigelow@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D)                                 
assemblymember.gonzalez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Ling-Ling Chang (R)                                  
assemblymember.chang@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D)                        
assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan Bonilla (D)                          
assemblymember.bonilla@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember James Gallagher (R)                                  
assemblymember.gallagher@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D)                               
assemblymember.bonta@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Brian Jones (R)                              
assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jay Obernolte (R)                          
assemblymember.obernolte@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D)                           
assemblymember.calderon@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Tom Daly (D)                                
assemblymember.daly@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Donald Wagner (R)                       
assemblymember.wagner@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan Eggman (D)                         
assemblymember.eggman@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Roger Hernandez (D)                                
assemblymember.hernandez@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Chris Holden (D)                           
assemblymember.holden@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Miguel Santiago (D)                                   
assemblymember.santiago@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Shirley Weber (D)                         
assemblymember.weber@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jim Wood (D)                                
assemblymember.wood@assembly.ca.gov
     

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives