California Bill to Exempt Pre-1981 Vehicles from Emissions Inspection Requirement Approved by Committee; Moves to Appropriations

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request Support for S.B. 1239 immediately from the California Senate Appropriations Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:
 

  • S.B. 1239 recognizes the minimal impact of pre-1981vehicles on emissions and air quality.
     
  • S.B. 1239 acknowledges that pre-1981 vehicles still constitute a minuscule portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.
     
  • S.B. 1239 endorses the fact that pre-1981 vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven (a fraction of the miles each year as a new vehicle). 
     
  • For years, legislators, regulators and stationary source polluters have felt the heat from failed efforts to meet air quality goals and have looked to older cars as a convenient scapegoat, using false data and inflated annual mileage assumptions to further their case.  S.B. 1239 helps validate the truth.  The old car hobby should not continue to carry the burden of past mistakes!

Overview: Legislation (S.B. 1239) to exempt all motor vehicles prior to the 1981 model year from the emissions inspection requirement was approved by the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee on a narrow 6 – 5 vote.  Current law requires the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles.  The bill will next be considered by the Appropriations Committee.

California Senate Committee on Appropriations

Senator Ricardo Lara (D)                                 
senator.lara@senate.ca.gov

Senator Pat Bates (R)                           
senator.bates@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Nielsen (R)                                   
senator.nielsen@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Beall (D)                          
senator.beall@senate.ca.gov

Senator Kevin de Leon (D)                              
senator.deleon@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jerry Hill (D)                          
senator.hill@senate.ca.gov

Senator Tony Mendoza (D)                             
senator.mendoza@senate.ca.gov

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives