Arkansas Bill to Create Pilot Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled to be Considered on Thursday, March 19, 2015

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

Arkansas Bill to Create Pilot Program to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled to be Considered on Thursday, March 19, 2015

Legislation (H.B. 1716) to allow the State Highway Commission to implement a pilot program that charges drivers based on vehicle miles traveled (VMT) will be considered by the House Public Transportation Committee on Thursday, March 19, 2015.  Under the bill, participants in the program would be taxed 1.5 cents per each mile the subject vehicle travels on Arkansas roadways.

We Urge You to Contact House Public Transportation Committee Members (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to H.B. 1716

  • H.B. 1716 could create privacy concerns and penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on vehicle mileage.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects.
     
  • H.B. 1716 would impose its harshest penalties on owners who are required to rely on their vehicles to drive long distances to and from places of employment.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the House Public Transportation Committeeimmediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to H.B. 1716.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

Arkansas House Public Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

prissy.hickerson@arkansashouse.org; mike.holcomb@arkansashouse.org; charles.blake@arkansashouse.org; karilyn.brown@arkansashouse.org; dellarosa4arkansas@gmail.com; dan-douglas@sbcglobal.net; lance.eads@gmail.com; david.fielding@arkansashouse.org; mickey@mickeygates.com; dhillman@futura.net; bobjohnsoncpa@gmail.com; julie-mayberry@att.net; rmcnair1950@gmail.com; milton.nicks@arkansashouse.org; mathew.pitsch@cox.net; marcus.richmond@arkansashouse.org; brandt.smith@arkansashouse.org; sorvillo4house@gmail.com; jmsturch@yahoo.com; dave.wallace@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mary Hickerson (Chair)
Phone: 903-826-3119
Email: prissy.hickerson@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mike Holcomb (Vice-Chair)
Phone: 870-489-7177
Email: mike.holcomb@arkansashouse.org

Representative Charles Blake
Phone: 501-425-9824
Email: charles.blake@arkansashouse.org

Representative Karilyn Brown
Phone: 501-580-9000
Email: karilyn.brown@arkansashouse.org

Representative Jana Della Rosa
Phone: 479-236-3060
Email: dellarosa4arkansas@gmail.com

Representative Dan M. Douglas
Phone: 479-619-9231
Email: dan-douglas@sbcglobal.net

Representative Lance Eads
Email: lance.eads@gmail.com

Representative David Fielding
Phone: 870-234-6143
Email: david.fielding@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mickey Gates
Phone: 501-623-1100
Email: mickey@mickeygates.com

Representative David Hillman
Phone: 870-830-3004
Email: dhillman@futura.net

Representative Bob Johnson
Phone: 501-982-1975
Email: bobjohnsoncpa@gmail.com

Representative Julie Mayberry
Phone: 501-888-8222
Email: julie-mayberry@att.net

Representative Ron McNair
Phone: 870-754-7962
Email: rmcnair1950@gmail.com

Representative Milton Nicks, Jr.
Phone: 870-739-5360
Email: milton.nicks@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mathew W. Pitsch
Phone: 479-883-2072
Email: mathew.pitsch@cox.net

Representative Marcus E. Richmond
Phone: 479-299-4416
Email: marcus.richmond@arkansashouse.org

Representative Brandt Smith
Phone: 870-351-7459
Email: brandt.smith@arkansashouse.org

Representative James J. Sorvillo
Email: sorvillo4house@gmail.com

Representative James Sturch
Phone: 870-612-7589
Email: jmsturch@yahoo.com

Representative Dave Wallace
Phone: 870-919-8046
Email: dave.wallace@arkansashouse.org

 

Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives