Arizona Introduces Bill to Raise Gas Taxes/Create Study to Tax Cars for Miles Traveled

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request Voice Your Opposition for S.B. 1312  immediately from the Arizona House Senate Transportation and Senate Finance Committee Members (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • S.B. 1312 would require a study of a road usage tax and potential pilot program. 
     
  • In addition to creating privacy concerns, the bill seeks to penalize national efforts to create a more fuel efficient vehicle fleet by taxing drivers based on vehicle mileage.  As gas tax revenues decrease due to hybrid and electric vehicle ownership, states are looking for new sources of funding for pet projects. 

Overview:  Legislation (S.B. 1312) to raise gas taxes and require a study of a road usage tax has been introduced. The bill has been assigned to both the assigned to the Transportation and Finance Committees.
  


 

 

Arizona Senate Committee on Transportation
 

Senator Carlyle Begay
cbegay@azleg.gov

Senator Judy Burges
jburges@azleg.gov

Senator Jeff Dial
jdial@azleg.gov

Senator Barbara McGuire
bmcguire@azleg.gov

Senator Catherine Miranda
cmiranda@azleg.gov

Senator Steve Pierce
spierce@azleg.gov

Senator Andrew C. Sherwood
asherwood@azleg.gov

Senator Bob Worsley
bworsley@azleg.gov

Arizona Senate Committee on Finance

Senator Steve Farley 
sfarley@azleg.gov

Senator Debbie Lesko
dlesko@azleg.gov

Senator Lynne Pancrazi
lpancrazi@azleg.gov

Senator Steve Yarbrough 
syarbrough@azleg.gov

Senator Kimberly Yee
kyee@azleg.gov

 

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives