Alabama Senate Bill To Further Exempt Older Vehicles From Certificate of Title Requirement to be Considered On March 3, 2016

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for S.B. 281 immediately from All Members of the Senate Transportation and Energy Committee  (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message

  • S.B. 281  exempts motor vehicles more than 35 years old from the requirement that they have a certificate of title.  Currently, only vehicles of model year 1974 and older are exempted.     
     
  • S.B. 281  exempts a trailer, semi-trailer, travel trailer, or moving collapsible and folding camper more than 20 years old. Currently, only trailers of 1989 model year and earlier are exempted.
     
  • S.B. 281  acknowledges the fact that titles are not always readily available for older vehicles.
     
  • S.B. 281, if enacted into law, would take effect on January 1, 2017.  

Overview:  Senate legislation (S.B. 281) to exempt motor vehicles more than 35 years old from the requirement that they have a certificate of title will be considered by the Senate Transportation and Energy Committee on Wednesday, March 3, 2016.  Currently, only vehicles of model year 1974 and older are exempted.  Trailers 20 model years old and older would also be exempted.  A House companion bill on this issue is being considered on March 2, 2016 in the House Committee on Health and Public Safety


 

Alabama Senate Transportation and Energy Committee

Senator  Gerald Allen                        
gerald.allen@alsenate.gov

Senator Greg Albritton                                  
galbritton@att.net

Senator Clyde Chambliss                               
clyde.chambliss@alsenate.gov

Senator Linda Coleman                                 
linda.coleman@birminghamal.gov

Senator Gerald O Dial                                   
gerald_dial@yahoo.com

Senator William L Holtzclaw                        
bill.holtzclaw@alsenate.gov

Senator Steve Livingston                               
steve.livingston@alsenate.gov

Senator   Jim McClendon                              
jimmcc@windstream.net

Senator Greg J Reed                          
greg.reed@alsenate.gov

Senator   Quinton T Ross                               
quinton.ross@alsenate.gov

Senator Clay Scofield                        
clay.scofield@alsenate.gov

Senator Cam Ward
cam@camward.com


Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives