Alabama Bill To Further Exempt Older Vehicles From Certificate of Title Requirement to be Considered On March 2, 2016

 

DON’T DELAY!  Please request support for H.B. 280 immediately from All Members of theHouse Health and Public Safety Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message

  • H.B. 280 exempts motor vehicles more than 35 years old from the requirement that they have a certificate of title.  Currently, only vehicles of model year 1974 and older are exempted.     
     
  • H.B. 280 exempts a trailer, semi-trailer, travel trailer, or moving collapsible and folding camper more than 20 years old. Currently, only trailers of 1989 model year and earlier are exempted.
     
  • H.B. 280 acknowledges the fact that titles are not always readily available for older vehicles.
     
  • H.B. 280, if enacted into law, would take effect on January 1, 2017.  

Overview:  Legislation (H.B. 280) to exempt motor vehicles more than 35 years old from the requirement that they have a certificate of title will be considered by the House Committee on Health and Public Safety on Wednesday, March 2, 2016.  Currently, only vehicles of model year 1974 and older are exempted.  Trailers 20 model years old and older would also be exempted.


 

Alabama House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee 

Representative  Randy Wood            
Randy.Wood@alhouse.org


Representative Allen Farley              
Allen.Farley@alhouse.org


Representative Thomas Jackson                   
Thomas.Jackson@alhouse.org


Representative Dickie Drake            
Dickie.Drake@alhouse.org


Representative Chris England                      
Chris.England@alhouse.org


Representative Tommy Hanes
Tommy.Hanes@alhouse.org


Representative Mary Moore             
Mary.Moore@alhouse.org

 

Representative Connie C Rowe                    
Connie.Rowe@alhouse.org


Representative Harry Shiver             
Harry.Shiver@alhouse.org


Representative Allen Treadway                  
Allen.Treadaway@alhouse.org


Representative Isaac Wharton                      
Isaac.Whorton@alhouse.org

 

Back to Breaking News: 2016 Archives